Comic Corner – May Roundup

Chimera book 1: The Righteous and the Lost by Tyler Ellis

cover136910-medium.png

Published by Comicker Press

Release date: 20th June 2018

Synopsis: 

Haunted by their pasts, a crew of thieves is hired for a covert mission in the midst of a galaxy being ripped apart by an interstellar holy war. If they want to survive – much less succeed – they must navigate hostile worlds, vengeful aliens, a deranged demon, and betrayal from within. Collects the first six issues of the acclaimed sci-fi/fantasy series, as well as a pin-up and cover gallery. Perfect for fans of STAR WARS, FIREFLY, or SAGA.

This was one of the most enjoyable graphic novels I’ve ever read. The characters are all cleverly written and the story balances out creepy as hell evil, heart warming moments and general hilarity.

The illustrations are a perfect fit for the story, my favourite aspect being that the women are drawn to be powerful rather than sexy (always a good way to judge a graphic novel).

The story flips back and forth between ‘then’ and ‘now’, which tells us how the ragtag group of alien and human thieves got together and found themselves on a mission to steal a mysterious artefact. The synopsis isn’t wrong when it suggests that fans of Star Wars and Firefly will enjoy this story, shares the same space-cowboys vibe but adds more depth to the fight between good and evil.


This Is a Taco! by Andrew Cangelose and Josh Shipley

cover135787-medium

Published by Lion Forge

Synopsis:

This is a squirrel . . . “Hey, I may be a squirrel, but my name is Taco! And I don’t eat nuts and tree bark—blech—I prefer tacos!” The natural predator of squirrels is . . . “Whoa, whoa, whoa! Who is writing this book? I do not like where this is going.” This hilarious send-up of a children’s nature primer teaches kids that the most important story is the one you write yourself.

This book is too cute. Taco is a squirrel, he understands that he controls his own story and to ignore the haters who think squirrels should only eat nuts and not tacos. Don’t be fooled into thinking this book is only for kids – everyone should have the chance to fall in love with Taco the squirrel!

The pictures are adorable and the story quirky and fun – the lesson this book teaches is that it’s ok to be silly and to be true to yourself.


Please Don’t Grab My P#$$y by Julia Young, illustrated by Matt Harkins

cover140790-medium

Published by Animal Media Group LLC

Publication date: 9th November 2018

Synopsis:

Through campy pop culture rhymes and beautiful oil paintings, the narrator of our book guides you though a list of things you CAN grab while offering more poetic ways to refer to a woman’s genitalia than the word “pussy” that Trump so vulgarly used. As the narrator goes on, she lets you know more about her relatives (a reclusive aunt with a lazy eye) and her interests (Justin Bieber’s Instagram) while never losing sight of her mission to make the President as uncomfortable as possible. We think that the President, not to mention men in Hollywood, Wall Street, the news media and beyond, can benefit from reading our book. No matter who you are, or how dumb you are, you’ll be able to understand this book’s simple message: Hands off my pussy!

‘You can grab a ride on your private jet

The leather seats are so soft and cushy

Get some rest before you rest

But please don’t grab my pussy’

 

This book is a hilarious poem about all the things a certain ‘gentleman’ should do rather than grab pussy (shudder). It’s funny, satirical and each verse ends in a hilarious euphemism for ‘vagina’. ‘Hippo’s yawn’ being my favourite, if you want to know.

The illustrations are eye catching oil paintings of different political scenes, which adds a certain gravitas to such beautiful verse.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s